Stuffmaker

A journey to world stuff-making domination

Penland: Last Days

with 5 comments

Photos from left: Beverly and Michael, the best teachers ever; Michael giving some color palette advice; Beverly’s sister Renee’s pot holders (Beverly  cares for her mentally disabled older sister Renee who makes pot holders). Renee came to Penland for the second week and sold everyone pot holders (I bought two) . There is a documentary about Beverly and Renee on HBO called Raising Renee.

My class with our Portraits

Some images from the classroom: class portraits, Floyd the skeleton and Michael’s lemon/apple painting, Abie drawing.

The paintings I won at the auction. I actually won a still life by Michael (see above), but he generously traded the portrait on the left for his apple and lemon (thank you Michael!). The oranges on the right were done by Abie.

Written by stuffmaker

July 8, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Posted in Painting

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Allison. My name is Kay. I live in eastern NC. I have taken summer classes at Penland in textiles, books, ceramics, surface design and last summer encaustic painting. We were in the same studio that your painting class was taught. I would have loved to have been in that class. I really like Ms. McIver’s style of painting. I saw an exhibit of her work this spring at the NC Museum of Art in Raleigh and was excited to see that she was teaching at Penland. Unfortunately, I couldn’t go, but thanks to your blog I have an idea of what it must have been like. I was wondering about the use of the projector in the class. What kind was it and did you project your drawings, slides, transparencies or something else. Just wondering. I love Penland and hope to be able to make it there again next summer if my finances allow.

    Take care,
    Kay

    Kay Barrow

    July 16, 2012 at 8:38 am

    • Hi Kay, Thanks for the note. We projected photos using a digital projector which hooks up to a computer, though I’m sure you could use a slide or overhead projector as well.

      stuffmaker

      July 16, 2012 at 9:21 am

  2. I found your blog through the Penland Facebook page. I applied for full scholarship/studio assistant for this class and didn’t get it, so it was really cool to see what the process of the class was like even though I couldn’t be there. I actually got inspired after reading it and made a new self-portrait when I got home! I would love to write about it in my blog a bit and link to your blog if that’s ok. Thanks for sharing your experience- very cool!
    Thanks, Harper

    harperleich

    July 17, 2012 at 7:00 am

    • Hi Harper, you are more than welcome to link back to my blog. I’m glad you found it inspiring. Good luck with your painting!
      Best,
      Allison

      stuffmaker

      July 17, 2012 at 7:26 am

  3. […] other day, Penland linked to this blog on facebook.  And by golly- it was what seemed to be a very thorough summary of the class.  So I […]


Leave a comment