Stuffmaker

A journey to world stuff-making domination

Penland 2013, Day 4

leave a comment »

Penland Day 4 began really, really early. I woke up at 5:30 and decided I may as well get up and head to work. It was super foggy at that time of day. Quiet, beautiful, and best of all,  I had the studio all to myself. I turned on the kiln, drilled some holes in the copper I prepared yesterday, then managed to enamel all of it before breakfast.

Today Arthur and Tanya (the awesome teaching assistant) demonstrated silkscreened enamel. Who knew? I took an enameling class at Pratt in Seattle several years ago, but I had no idea that we had just scratched the surface of all of the different techniques, both traditional and modern. Silkscreening definitely falls in the latter category, and the setup is surprisingly easy and inexpensive. The demos took up a lot of the day, and I spent the afternoon putting more layers of enamel on some of the pieces, painting on others, and getting ready to make my own screens to print tomorrow. 

Clockwise from top left: Lilly Loom Building in the fog (the view is from the Metals Studio porch, roughly what I would see if I could see through the wall behind my workbench); The Pines (where we dine) and the meadow in the fog; Tanya’s silk screening demo; Some finished enameled objects (the one on the left, maybe not so much…); Enamel in progress.

Image

Written by stuffmaker

July 10, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

