Stuffmaker

A journey to world stuff-making domination

Penland: Days 7 & 8

with one comment

After five full days of making art, I decided to take Saturday off. Technically, there is no class on the weekends, but the studios are open 24 hours so I could have painted had I the urge. Instead I headed back into Asheville with one of my classmates. We toured the Asheville art museum (saw a nice Robert Motherwell printmaking exhibit), then met Michael and Beverly for lunch. Nice respite to recharge the batteries, plus with the heat wave it felt about a thousand degrees outside, so a spin in the Jeep was just the thing.

Friday I used the projector to lay in the general outline and dark colors of  the portrait below, and today I started to paint. I tried to keep all of the guidance and wisdom Beverly and Michael have been imparting for the past week in mind as I painted. It’s moving in the right direction though Michael keeps telling me to not be afraid of using a little color. My main question is, what the heck am I going to do with an enormous painting of myself?

Written by stuffmaker

July 1, 2012 at 6:24 pm

Posted in Painting

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, you really nailed it on your last portrait.
    Not being an artist, I just looked at the first two
    as a mom, and I said “that doesn’t look like my
    Ali”, but the last one blew me away. It’s you!!!!
    Must be very satisfying for you. Glad you are enjoying your time there. Love ya, Mom xoxo

    MoM

    July 2, 2012 at 4:00 pm


Leave a Reply

