Stuffmaker

A journey to world stuff-making domination

Penland: Day 5

leave a comment »

Today we worked on adding collage into our paintings. I’ve been in the habit of adding things to my acrylic paintings, and this is basically the same idea, though you add the collage bits first with acrylic medium, then paint over them with oil (but not in reverse… In the words of Michael, “Don’t do that”).

Here is the start of a new painting with collage. The background is a letterpress calendar that Beverly bought for the class to use. It’s definitely a work in progress, but I like how some of the numbers show through my face.

After lunch, Beverly gave a demonstration using a projector to project the image onto the canvas. This is particularly helpful in creating an effective composition when using collage in the background.

I also continued work on my non-dominant hand portrait (see below). It’s, well, not awesome. BUT, what it IS is  practice. I read somewhere that after doing something for 10,000 hours, one is an expert. After this workshop I’ll have an additional 80 odd hours to add to the tally. Below my painting is Beverly’s demo painting from today (with close up). I really admire her approach to painting. Breaking down the image to light and dark, using few bold brush strokes to realize the image. Clearly, she’s put in her 10,000 hours.

Written by stuffmaker

June 28, 2012 at 8:13 pm

Posted in Painting

Leave a Reply

