Stuffmaker

A journey to world stuff-making domination

Penland: Day 3

with 2 comments

Today… Today we painted. The day started with a demonstration by Michael showing how he approaches mixing color and laying down the paint on canvas, then after lunch Beverly demonstrated her techniques. Their approach to both how they organize and mix color, and how they paint is very different and incredibly inspiring. It just reinforces that there are no rules in art.

We are painting with seven colors. Two yellows, two reds, two blues, and white. Michael organizes his paints into warm and cool categories, while Beverly organizes by light and dark. Michael mixes all of the colors on the color wheel prior to starting, Beverly mixes her colors on the fly. Both end up with rich, vibrant colors with completely different methodology.

I started the day following Michael’s lead, mixing all of my colors in advance, but by the end of the day, I was steering more in Beverly’s direction. I think in the end I’ll land somewhere in the middle.

I started two paintings. Neither are finished since the oil needs to dry a tad before I go in with layers (can’t break out the blow drier like I do with acrylics!). The first is, well, the first (see below for a view of some progress). I had to put it aside to dry so I can go back tomorrow and fix some things (my lips and neck for starters). The second painting I’m painting with my non-dominant (left) hand, and so-far it’s turning out better than the first.

From left: Painting 1, painting 1 developing, Beverly giving non-dominant hand demo

Above image is a panorama of my classmate’s work. The top row, forth from left is Michael’s painting. In the bottom row, second from right you can see the beginnings of my non-dominant hand portrait.

Written by stuffmaker

June 26, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Posted in Painting

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’ve inspired me! I think I am going to have to make it a goal to get to Penland… this looks like fun! Would love to get a chance to explore my artistic talents even more. Never tried to paint with my non-dominant hand – now I’m going to have to give it a try!

    Becky Hochhalter

    June 26, 2012 at 8:25 pm

  2. Hi Ali. This reminds me of when I lived in Chicago in my 20s. I took classes at an art school downtown after work a couple nights each week. I still have my color wheel and other miscellaneous things I made in that class. One day I hope to get back to it (painting), but daily life tends to get in the way. Enjoy!!!

    Doug

    Douglas Yaney

    June 27, 2012 at 8:10 am


Leave a Reply

