Stuffmaker

A journey to world stuff-making domination

Penland: Day 2

with one comment

Today was my first full day at Penland and I think I’m going to like it here. First of all, the food is quite good.  Secondly, they provide two yoga classes a day. And last but not least, my instructors are awesome! The class I’m taking is being taught by Beverly McIver and Michael Dixon, both of whom are figurative painter (who work as college professors, as many a painter is wont to do).

Today we began with the basics, starting with proportion, ending with color theory. Michael went over the basic structure and proportions of the face (did you know your eyes are actually right in the middle of your face vertically between your chin and the top of your head? I swear, it’s true!), then had us work on a self portrait in pencil. I think mine does look like me, though my eyes are two different sizes. Not bad for an hour and a half though.

After lunch, Beverly gave us a rundown of mixing skin tones, then Michael had us all paint a color wheel. Tomorrow we start to paint!

Written by stuffmaker

June 25, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Posted in Painting

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So cool! I could go for two yoga classes a day!

    nutritionjen

    June 25, 2012 at 6:35 pm


Leave a Reply

