Stuffmaker

A journey to world stuff-making domination

Penland School of Crafts: Day 1

with 3 comments

Today I arrived at  Penland School of Crafts in Penland, North Carolina where I’m taking a two-week contemporary portrait painting class.

I love taking classes and learning new things. Over the years I’ve taken dozens of classes in painting, printmaking, bookmaking, metals, and more. But since college I’ve never been able to immerse myself in art without dealing with the every day distractions that life throws at my way.

Penland is a true haven of art and craft. Up in the mountains 15 miles away from the nearest town, the only distractions are, well, none. Everything is taken care of, so all I have to do is show up. They provide three meals  and two yoga classes per day, and 24 hour access to the painting studio. I also found a delightful walk through the woods. What more can a girl ask for?

Clockwise from top left: The door to the painting studio, the view from the Craft House, the studio before students arrive, a path through the woods.

Written by stuffmaker

June 24, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Posted in Painting

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This all looks so great, Ali. I would love to do this! I could use two weeks of unplug and inspiration.

    Ponyboy

    June 30, 2012 at 8:58 am

    • It is wonderful up here Russell. You’d love it! I’ll definitely be coming back!

      stuffmaker

      June 30, 2012 at 2:06 pm

  2. […] at Penland School of Crafts in Penland, North Carolina.I posted daily about my experiences starting here (there are a total of 10 blog posts about the two weeks). It was a wonderful experience and I hope […]


Leave a Reply

