Stuffmaker

A journey to world stuff-making domination

Figure Drawing – Round 3

with 2 comments

IMG_4991

Foreshortening plus male model equals very challenging. This week in class, however, I feel I started out strong… my very first gesture drawing was really not half bad! I’m thinking that, while self confidence maybe isn’t half the battle, it is certainly a portion of it. One of my favorite parts of class is walking around and looking at all of my classmates drawings. Everyone has a unique vision, and while some people are more talented, and some less, it’s always inspiring to see every person’s own unique point of view. Meanwhile, while I don’t think I’m going to produce anything in this class that will live to eternity… I do love getting back to the basics and remembering how to see things, and how to put that down on paper. Mostly, I love how when I’m in the moment, I really leave everything else behind. There are so many things in life that are constantly pressing on us. And it’s so hard to just take a step back. So for me it’s been surprisingly cathartic. I don’t often find it easy to just exist in the moment, but am finding I am totally oblivious to everything else when I’m in the process of drawing in this class. I forget about everything, both good and bad because my entire focus is about seeing the figure and putting it down on paper.  It’s really been amazing and I’m learning a lot and am determined to keep it up… Meanwhile,  being the stuffmaker, I’m compelled to make a bag for all of my drawing paper, pencils and whatnot. So stay tuned for the anatomy of a handbag.

Written by stuffmaker

July 23, 2009 at 12:10 am

Posted in Paper

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this post, Allison! (and I love what you’re doing…).

    mike

    August 11, 2009 at 9:40 am

    • Thanks Mike! Stay tuned for more! (I was inspired by your dailies…)

      stuffmaker

      August 12, 2009 at 7:42 pm


Leave a Reply

