Stuffmaker

A journey to world stuff-making domination

Figure Drawing – Round 2

with 3 comments

class2

I keep hearing myself saying that if one can draw the human figure, one can draw anything (boy, how pretentious do I sound?). Does it follow then that if I can’t draw the human figure I can’t draw anything? I’m hoping not. I have these memories of being in the “not half bad” skill level in my college figure drawing class, but I have to remind myself that back then I never used computers and was frequently found with pencil/pen/paintbrush in hand. As of late, all of the “drawings” I do are created using my wacom tablet and Adobe Illustrator with it’s multiple undos. So getting back to basics is an uphill battle. Or perhaps battle is a little dramatic, maybe journey would be more accurate. Today’s class started with gestures and moved on to longer poses, the longest which was 20 minutes. I think I’m showing a marked improvement over last week, but need lots and lots of practice. I’ve read that becoming an expert at anything just takes something like 1000 hours of practice (6 down!). The images above are the last two drawings of the night. The left took 10 minutes, the right 20.

Written by stuffmaker

July 14, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Posted in Paper

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Ali,

    I was just telling your mom that I feel bad we haven’t kept in better touch. We went to Norwood’s for her birthday Monday. Now today I received your e-mail about your new blog. Congratulations. I’ve been thinking about starting one too but haven’t taken time yet to learn how. Plus I wanted to make sure I have the time to put some effort into it. I recently changed one of my websites http://www.yanzum.com to more of an information site about gardening, art, but mostly the environment. It’s something I’ve been passionate about for years. I’ve always recycled everything possible, even going to extremes sometimes, so I decided to write about it and maybe convince more people that we can’t afford to keep throwing everything away. I decided I can’t control everyone else but I can set a good example. I’ve been writing articles for the site and it’s been a lot of fun. Check it out when you have some time.

    Did you know my dad, your grandpa, had some drawing talent, but he rarely ever let us see that artistic side of himself. Coming from that era he probably thought it wasn’t manly. People had some odd ideas in those days. Anyway, maybe you inherited some of your many talents from him. He was great at building things such as houses and he always had a great eye for small details, just like you. I don’t know if I’ve ever told you this, but I’m very proud of you and what you’ve done with your life.

    I love ya,
    Uncle Doug

    PS Hope this wasn’t too personal for your blog. Sorry, too late now.

    Douglas Yaney

    July 15, 2009 at 5:03 am

    • Hi Ali,
      I was just checking out your blog again….great job!! I noticed I used a comma instead of a period on my website address for my last entry. The correct one is above. I’m getting ready to create a new website about how we can save the earth. Big undertaking but someone’s got to do it. Ha. I noticed you took some metal working classes. I did the same way back in FW days. I still have a silver ring and a copper bowl I made, though nothing as nice as yours.
      Keep up the fun blog. It’s great to see what you’re doing. Is that really you in the big bird outfit?

      Uncle Doug

      Doug

      November 13, 2009 at 7:09 am

      • Indeed that is me in the big bird costume. and what’s more, I made it! (which is why I put it on my blog). I’m doing all kinds of arty things these days, so stay tuned for more. And I’ll be seeing you in a couple weeks for Thanksgiving! Looking forward to it!

        stuffmaker

        November 13, 2009 at 10:34 am


Leave a Reply

